Skip to content ↓

Westfield Primary Community School

Where children come first


Westfield Governors are committed to challenging senior leaders to ensure the best possible outcomes for the pupils at Westfield.

Following some turbulence in governor membership, an External Review of Governance was commissioned by the school (Autumn 2016) led by a National Leader of Governance. 

Westfield governors have recently completed an audit of skills, and we employ a fully qualified external clerk through City of York's Governance Service.

As with all schools, the Governing Body has a wide range of duties in the leadership and management of the school including:

  • Ensuring a safe and secure environment for learning
  • Agreeing school policy
  • Setting and monitoring the budget
  • Making senior staff appointments and dealing with staff matters
  • Overseeing the curriculum

If you are interested in becoming a governor, detailed information can be found on the City of York Website here.

Elections for parent governor representatives are held as vacancies arise.


2018-2019 Committees and their Members and Governors with Specific Responsibilities

Resources Committee (to include Pay Committee function)

Lamara Taylor

Rachel Parker

Jason Angus

Alex King (Vice Chair of Governors)

Andrew Waller

Carol Pearce (Associate Member) (not present during pay committee meetings)


School Improvement Committee (to include Data Link function)

Lamara Taylor

Claire Gomez

Vicky Cartwright

Michelle Fairclough

Jason Angus

Rebecca Main

Rory Barke

Adrian Fletcher

Morag Galloway


Headteacher’s Performance Management Group

Alexander King

Rachel Parker

Michelle Fairclough


Specific Responsibilities


Safeguarding and Child Protection

Michelle Fairclough 


Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND)

Rebecca Main


Disadvantaged Pupils

Andrew Waller





Phase Governors 

Early Years and Foundation Stage (EYFS)     

Key Stage 1 (KS1)                                                Rachel Parker

Lower Key Stage 2 (LKS2)                                  Michelle Fairclough

Upper Key Stage 2 (UKS2)                                 Jason Angus and Andrew Waller